Grand Opening Count Down

The grand opening countdown for the Grand Opening of the Drake’s Nest Studios has begun! The work table has  been finished and edges put in place as has the edgings for the kitchen nook counter. The wall cabinets are up and the book shelves are fast filling up. Just a few pieces of furniture to put into place and then putting all the fabric and patterns in their places. The studio should be ready to open within 2-3 weeks!! The first person to leave a comment on my Website http://www.drakesneststudios.com will win a nice thank you gift from me. So stay tuned and keep watching the web site.

Thank you to everyone who has left comments or sent me emails about the interview with Royce Vaughn. They were very nice and I’m so glad to see the how well she was received. Next month I’ll have another guest artist for you, so keep watching the website and here for notifications of site/blog changes, contests, news and the like.

Yesterday I spent a fabulous with my bestest friend and adopted Sister, Squirrel, in Oscoda, Michigan. We caught up on what’s been going on in our lives, had lunch and then tackled the inventories of her books in her studio. Squirrel and I have been friends for over 20 years and she is more like a sister than friend. We have been through many changes in our lives, some good and some not so good, but all a part of life and the bond between us has grown stronger because of them. If all goes according to plan, Squirrel will be at the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival with me selling some of her beautiful critter quilts and minding the store when I have to go and take pictures.

Well, next week my Fall Semester starts for college and it looks like October is going to be very busy for me as well. Will be putting up some pictures of the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival in October, a working/pleasure job for me as a photographer. This organization raises funds to help promote the history of lighthouses, help with their restoration and/or saving them from destruction by purchasing them, if possible. The Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival is also rewarding its youthful volunteers by awarding lucky recipients with scholarships to college. Let’s hear a round of applause for the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival (GLLF)!

Until next time, remember don’t sweat the small stuff, ‘cauz it’s ALL small stuff!

Terri at the Drake’s Nest in beautiful Ossineke, Michigan

Site: http:/www.drakesneststudios.com

This entry was posted in Drakes Nest Studios Website Updates, This in that in my little realm, What's New and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grand Opening Count Down

  1. Hey, Terri! Thank you for “dropping by” my blog today. I can see you are really busy these days. Am so glad you are enjoying the book and hope to see some of your designs soon! Does Ray collect stamps? It seems these days we just don’t use snail mail that often any more, so I didn’t even notice what they were putting on the envelope when I mailed the book. But I do like those mailing envelopes. They have quite a few different ones with pictures from different parts of Ecuador.

    Will be looking out for the grand opening of your studio. Should be fun to see!

  2. Allie says:

    You must be SO excited, Terri! I wish I could be up there with you – when is the Festival? I’d love to see that. And I’d love to see Squirrel’s quilts! Does she have a website?

  3. pat sloan says:

    I can’t wait to see your studio! I love to see where people work

    • Thanks Pat, I will be posting pictures as soon as the dusting is finished and the furniture and fabric/books/patterns, are all in their place. I’m honored that you visited my little website. I always visit yours and have many of your patterns and NOW I’ll even have a place where I can make them!

      Thanks again for your kind comments and look forward to your visit again sometime.

      Terri at the Drake’s Nest in Ossineke, MI

  4. Linda Bott says:

    hey terri…i am member of Hanging my a thread in MI….missed you at the last getogether in the spring….wish I could make the lighthouse festival …have taken pics of quit a few myself over the years…but not areial shots….very interesting!!!

    • Glad you liked the aerial shots. Will probably be doing more shots like that in the future. However, not knowing what they have planned for this year, there’s no telling what I will have. I will be selling CD’s of teh Lighthouse Festival at its conclusion. If you think you’d be interested in those, let me know.

      Have a great day and a brighter tomorrow. Sorry that you can’t make it, but never say never! Gentle hugs.

      Terri at the Drake’s Nest in Ossineke, MI where it finally stopped raining!

Leave a Reply

