Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival

I have just finished recovering from a 4-day non-stop whirlwind of activity with the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival where I was not only a vendor but their official photographer as well. It was a marvelous, though pleasantly tiring, four days. In case you are not aware, every October the Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival Museum and Festival put on four fun packed days of fund-raising, selling craft and art items, eating and making donations to not only scholarship funds that help promote the education of future light keepers, but also to raise funds for the preservation and restoration of the wonderful lighthouses found all across this great country. These stationary soldiers of the waters are a part of our nation’s history and well worth maintaining.

To show you just how far these wonderful people are willing to go to raise monies for the scholarships and restoration/preservation projects, just take a look at this picture of Lee Scherwitz who not only shed his “manly” clothes for his wife’s square dancing dress decorated with lighthouses, but shed his locks of hair as well. This self-less act raised over $1,000! And that was just for one night!! These are great people.

Mr and Mrs Lee Scherwitz

Lee Scherwitz shed locks and manly clothes to raise money for GLLF

Even with all the work with the GLLF and school, I have managed to get a start on Christmas gifts! How about you?

Have a great day, until next time, remember don’t sweat the small stuff, ‘cuz it’s ALL small stuff.

Terri at the Drake’s Nest in very fallish Ossineke, MI

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Great Lakes Lighthouse Festival

  1. Gayle says:

    Terri, it sounds like a great time was had by all and for a very worthy cause. I think it would be fun to attend something like this but, of course, there are no lighthouses in my neck of the woods. Keep up the good work!

  2. Allie says:

    I wish I could have been there – it sounds fabulous! Christmas gifts? What’s that? *G*

  3. Royce says:

    Sounds like a wonderful cause. I started my Christmas presents back in April. I’m down to just the small items left to make. Hopefully I’ll be done with them all by the first of Nov.

    • You are further along than I am with gifts at this point in time. School, now that the Festival is over with, is consumming all my energies as we gear down towards Thanksgiving break and then finals. Spring semester starts in January and I’ll be carrying a full boat again. Just need to get through the rest of this year and then next year and I should have my Bachelor’s. I told hubby no more school after this. Everytime I go with him to “let’s just see what they have to offer,” I end up carrying 18 credits! I’ve been in school as long as we’ve been married (3 years) and I really want to nurture my business, which I can’t do in while in school; however, the courses I’m taking will help with it so in the end it will be a win-win situation – at least that’s what I keep telling myself as I grumble over all the homework .

      Have a great day, Royce and thank’s for stopping by for a visit.

      Terri at the Drake’s Nest in Ossineke where I’m off to class and to pick up some cow!

    • Show off . I will be finished with my Christmas stuff by the end of November. I’ve the labels ready for my Christmas cards and all I need to is write the traditional letter and I’m good for go! Next year I’ll have more completed, hopefully, with the studio done. I’ve even completed my first PC!

      Have a great day Royce and thanks for stopping by.

      Terri at the Drake’s Nest where we had snow flurries yesterday!

Leave a Reply

