What’s on the drawing board!

Before I get to the matters at hand, let me express condolences and prayers to those families who lost loved ones and/or were injured at the Boston Marathon this past weekend. To say I was appalled and horrified would be an understatement. There are no words that can express my sorrow for those who have suffered at the hands of someone so utterly evil. It is a sad commentary on our world today when people inflict such atrocities on their fellow man. I pray that they find those responsible and they are punished to the fullest extent of the law.

I think Spring has finally arrived here in Northern Michigan, at least it’s trying. Beautiful sunny day, the ice is almost totally melted from the pond, temperature is 55 degrees F and the Canada Geese have returned to hatch another brood. All is right with the world here at the Drake’s Nest.

Thought I’d share a project that I am currently working on. This is one of the samples I am working on to use in the a thread painting class that I am teaching on April 20th at the Hollyhocks Quilt Shop in Harrisville, Michigan. If you are familiar with the area and would like to take the class, the fee is $10 and there are spaces available. Class is from 10:30 a.m. until 2:30 p.m. Hollyhocks is located at 301 E. Main Street in Harrisville, MI (989-724-7788).

This particular project is a combination of thread painting, painting on the fabric with InkTense dye sticks and pencils and printing the actual photo onto fabric. I’ll post a picture of it when I have it completed.

Sturgeon Point Lighthouse Twas MI

Sturgeon Point Lighthouse Twas MI

The next picture is a close up of the Keeper’s quarters detailing some of the thread painting that is in progress.

Keepers Quarters - Sturgeon Point Lighthouse Twas MI

Keepers Quarters – Sturgeon Point Lighthouse Twas MI

Still has a long way to go, but I’m pleased with how its coming along.

I am currently in a PC (post card) swap on the Connecting Threads website and as soon as it is completed and my partner has received her PC, I’ll post a picture of that. To give a little background, we had to do a 4″ x 6″ fabric post card that was based either on a book or a character from a book. I chose H.G. Wells’ “First Men in the Moon” as my book theme. I’ll leave it at that for if I say much more I’ll give it away.

Coming in the near future will be an offering of a block of the month, swaps, and challenges. Let me know what you would like to see in the way of projects. Want to do a UFO buster? Interested in applique, redwork, embroidery? How about making teddy bears or replicating your child’s art work in fabric? Let me know and we’ll see what we can do for you.

The Drake’s Nest Studio website will soon be getting items on it that will be for sale and getting totally updated as well.

Until next time, May you all enjoy the unfolding Spring and be safe.

Best wishes – Terri at the Drake’s Nest in Ossineke, MI

This entry was posted in What's New and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s on the drawing board!

  1. BJ says:

    Your lighthouse is looking good! Hope you get a class full of eager learners.

    • Thanks BJ, coming from you that means alot! Due to a retreat being scheduled the same day (wasn’t known until after my class was scheduled and couldn’t change the date to one earlier as we were in Hawaii) it appears I may have just 1 student; however, several ladies took the supply list but didn’t sign up. Possible those ladies may just end up being drop-ins. I’m only charging $10 to teach the class and am providing some simple pictures they can do or they can do freehand and I am providing the materials, batting, and some threads. They provide their own machine/threads.   Wish you could be here, we’d have a ball and you could show off what you’ve done! Will let you know how it goes. Gotta run, have a great day. Thanks for dropping by the Drake’s Nest.

      ________________________________

  2. Allie says:

    Hollyhock is one of my favorite all-time quilt shops – so wish I could be there! Grew up summering in Harrisville. Have a great time!

    • Sorry took so long to reply, internet was being a bit quirky over this way and had difficulty getting on. The thread painting class was loads of fun and I enjoyed the teaching experience. Will have to see about doing it again once we’ve relocated.

      All the best to you dear lady!

Leave a Reply

