Howdy from Beautiful Palm Bay, Florida!

I finally have a moment to catch my breath from unpacking (still have 20 18-gallon plastic tubs to unload, started with 280), doctor’s visits, organizing the house and trying to learn my way around. We are LOVING it here and the weather is wonderful. There have been rainy days but lots and lots of sunshine. Which I, for one, am happy to have. My former neighbor and good friend in Ossineke, Michigan told me that in the latter part of August they had already had a frost! We’ve invited them to come visit if it gets too cold there.

There were all kinds of adventures with the move here, the scariest one being the call from the bank informing us there was a problem. Now mind you, I had spoken with the bank BEFORE we left Michigan and was assured that all was well. The call came when we were on the Kentucky/Ohio border! As you may remember, I stated that I had to close the business to clear up the problem that the “underwriter” had created. This was going to be done any way as my license to do business was in Michigan and not Florida. I am looking into what I need to do to get a business license here and to find out whether or not my tax ID number will be good here. There are plans to do some flea markets/craft shows and see how well the fiber arts will sell here. We shall see. For the time being, I’m quite content to let things go as they are until all the dust settles.

Since being here, we have explored quite a bit and just love how friendly and helpful the people are here. When you go into any shop or store, customer service and making the customer happy seems to be their number one objective. I mean, as soon as you walk in the door you are greeted with a “hello” and “welcome” and “let me know if you need any help.” All are very curtious, smiling AND when you leave, you hear, “Thank you,” and “please come back soon, would love to see you.” I’ve even had employees tell me where to find items I’m looking for that they are either out of or no longer carry. It’s amazing!

So far, I have attended several weekend quilt sew-ins, several meetings of The Applique Society, Art quilt meeting, doll makers meeting AND attended a fabulous quilt show in Jacksonville. Everything seems to be within a short drive. Average time is approximately 10-15 minutes. This is quite a wonderful change of pace when you consider that everything I would have liked to have done in Michigan required a 2-3 hour trip, minimum. My doctor’s visits took a 3-hour ride one way for a 15-20 minute visit!

One of the local quilt shops, where some of the meetings are held for the various groups, has invited me to teach a thread painting class sometime between January and March. I had taken in some pieces for show-n-tell and they loved them and want to learn the technique. So, I will be making up some samples that can be displayed in the shop to see if there is any interest from the clientel or members of the various groups. Will let you know more on that later.

Unfortunately, not everything has been smooth. Somewhere along the line of packing, moving, and unpacking, I have managed to rupture 3-4 disks in my neck and back and herniated another 6. Will be trying pain shots that are suppose to be long lasting to see if we can avoid surgery. I receive the first of 3 next Tuesday. If they do not work then I will be having surgery within the next few months. In the meantime, my unpacking, cleaning, sewing, or anything else that requires me to bend, sit, stand or reach, has been curtailed to avoid any emergency surgery.

Will be posting pictures of the area and such as soon as I am able to find the tub containing the mechanism that allows me to upload pictures from my camera to the computer.

Until next time, may each and every one of you enjoy all the very best that life has to offer.

Terri at the “NEW” Drake’s Nest in Palm Bay, Florida where a tiny emerald green frog is clinging to my window!

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, What's New and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Howdy from Beautiful Palm Bay, Florida!

  1. B J Elder says:

    Oh, I hope the shots help and you can avoid surgery… for a long time. I am sure you will find lots of interest in your threadpaintings and other great art works. I’m so glad you are enjoying it there and that you don’t have to go far to get to so many wonderful places (as well as to doctors, etc.)

    • Thanks BJ, I, too, would like to avoid surgery if possible. However, my past experience with these “shots” leave me in doubt as to their working. Oh well, on-ward and up-ward, as the drill Sargent says. Thanks for dropping by and visiting a while. 😉

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

