Creativity with acrylics

While I LOVE creating fiber art, art quilts, quilts, and such, I also thoroughly enjoy painting and sketching. For the past few months, I have traveled about an hour and a half (one way) to Titusville, Florida to attend a painting event sponsored by Paint, Wine & whimsy. They meet 2-3 times the first of the month and while some nights are just for fun, other nights they are doing fund-raisers for various charities, schools, etc. A really great way to explore painting to see if you like it or to improve your skills if you’ve been away from it for a while. I fall into the latter group.

The most recent additions to my “collection” of paintings I have worked on are Sea Turtle and Garden Gate. The Sea Turtle picture, I believe is supposed to be a loggerhead, but I’m not certain. While I did complete this painting at the event, I worked on it a little more today to add a little more detail. I’m quite pleased with how it turned out.

Turtle finished

The Garden Gate painting is a winter scene and while I do like the way it turned out, I think I may redo it on a larger canvas where I can really play with the scene and work on the details.

Garden Gate

What do you do to satisfy that creative person inside you? Do you paint? Crochet? Perhaps you do photography. Would love to hear what you do when you are feeling creative.

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, What's New and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

