Making lists

I don’t know about you, but when I have something big on an upcoming agenda, I generally make a list, with dates of when to begin or when they are due, and cross them off as I complete each task. The upcoming move to Ecuador is not just big, it’s H-U-G-E!! In some ways, my secretarial/administrative background is going to come in very handy indeed.

When we moved from Michigan to Florida, I had an inventory of everything that was in boxes, which boxes they were in and what room they were to be placed. Not only did I have an inventory, but I also had a Master list and each box contained it’s own page. The Master was in case the box disappeared, I would know exactly what was in it for insurance purposes.

The move to Ecuador will entail an inventory similar to what I had, but will have to be more detailed. Instead of a box just saying “Bedroom,” the box has to be numbered and the contents broken down. Such as Box 1 – Master bedroom – 10 pairs men’s slacks, for example. Every thing must be identified, including loose items, which must also be numbered and listed. For example, the inventory could read, Item #3 – 1 headboard, Item #4, 1 footboard, etc. Now the only thing I have to find out is whether or not I have to have the list in Spanish for customs or if English will be sufficient. These are questions I have for the shipping company, as well as cost, requirements for customs and if there is door-to-door delivery/set up.

While this whole process is going to be somewhat nerve racking, I truly believe that it will be worth it in the end. I’m excited about beginning a new adventure with my wonderful hubby, but at the same time, I’m scared about the unknown. Here in Florida, I know exactly where to go for groceries, doctor’s visits, best place to swim and the like. Moving here from Michigan had it’s challenges, but I pretty much knew what to expect.

Moving to Ecuador is a totally different game and I can well imagine that the problems and challenges that I will run into – learning a new language and culture, learning how to maneuver area that will become home – finding my way to stores, doctor’s, learning how to get my needs across while learning the language will be similar to what thousands have done who have come to the United States, or any other number of countries. How difficult or easy it will be to adjust will be up to me.

What I need to remember first and foremost is that where I am going is NOT the United States and that I should not expect the people to do things like we do here. I will be a guest in their home and should behave the way I would expect them to behave if they were a guest in my home.

On that note, I will leave you with a picture of one of Florida’s beautiful sunrises and my wishes that you and yours enjoy all the very best that life has to offer and God’s blessings. When one is faced with the unknown, just remember that Columbus took a chance!

Hasta – Terri at the Drake’s Nest

025

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, Travels and Life's Adventures, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making lists

  1. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out
    pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but
    I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?
    Many thanks

    • It’s not difficult to set up your own blog at all. There are many sites out there that offer free blogs or a blog as part of a paid website, if you go that route. I would begin by researching the various blogs that are out there, such as WordPress and then think about what you want to be able to do on your blog. Some blogs you can sell items on while others may not allow you to do that. GoDaddy.com offers websites and, I believe, blogs as well. My blog came as a part of my website and had easy to use templates which made it real easy to set up.

      Hope I was able to answer your question, you might ask some other bloggers how they started and who they use.

      Have a very Merry Christmas and thanks for visiting my blog.

      Terri at the Drake’s Nest

Leave a Reply

