Time to Leave, I Will Return

We have been in Cuenca, Ecuador exploring all that we could in a two-week period of time. During this time we have immersed ourselves in the culture, met some wonderful people and enjoyed trying our hand with Spanish. There were some difficulties, but nothing we couldn’t over come. The Ecuadorian people will go out of their way to help you with their language if you are willing to make the effort.

Any misgiving or apprehension we may have had about coming here are gone. We know in our hearts that this is where we are meant to be at this time in our life. We have found a delightful church attended by expats from around the world and Ecuadorians as well.

Tonight we had a marvelous dinner of basil chicken, cheese creamed potatoes, fresh salad with a delicious dressing made from passion fruit, garlic rolls and cervaza or beer. We were surprised with the gift of a wonderful slice of orange cheese cake with a chocolate covered strawberry from our waiter. He wished us safe travels and looks forward to seeing us upon our return next year. He even offered suggestions of places to live.

As if reading our sadness of leaving and the joy of looking forward to our return, the skies presented a sunset that seemed to reflect both.

This won’t be the end of my blogging on Ecuador as I plan on talking about the process that we will go through to get our residency visas, shipping our belongings and everything in between.

If you have questions, please drop me a line and I will be glad to answer your questions. If I don’t know the answer, I will find out.

I leave you with a few pictures taken during our stay. Until later my friends,

Hasta pronto,

Terri at the Drakes Nest

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, Travels and Life's Adventures, Uncategorized, What's New and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time to Leave, I Will Return

  1. Beautiful photos! I love it!

  2. You have a very nice blog. From what I saw of your photos, Germany seemed to be a dark and oppressive country. Love the photo of the dragon on the side of the building.

Leave a Reply

