Land that time forgot? Maybe!

The more I look at Ecuador, the more I love what I see. When we were visiting, before we had made up our minds to move to Ecuador, I kept getting the feeling that I had stepped back in time or I was reliving a previous life. For the life of me, I couldn’t understand how or why I would have these feelings when I had never even stepped foot in the country until that wonderful day when we arrived for an International Living Conference.

The more I thought about it, the more puzzled I became. It wasn’t until I started going through an old family picture album that I suddenly understood “why” I had these feelings. In the old family pictures, there were scenes of family picnics, pictures taken at church, family outings or even a visit from the family doctor in our home when we were sick. Back when I was growing up family, faith, living a full life and enjoying the outdoors were the important things in our lives. We played outdoors, helped neighbors when they needed it, learned important things we would need in preparation for our being on our own, like how to cook, balance a checkbook, talking out differences of opinion and how to get along with those we don’t always agree with. We learned how to do give and take, we sat as a family at the dinner table and said grace before we ate and had evening prayers before we went to bed.

As I look around me today, I see kids with their noses stuck in video games or texting as they walk, or worse drive, around. Even walking next to friends, they text each other rather than have a vocal conversation. I have watched as children, and grownups, have walked into signs, into people and into the street without looking up from their phones or iPad. Some have even walked into cars or off a cliff because they were oblivious to their surroundings.

People have no time for family or friends, they don’t eat together much less go to church or pray together. They don’t know how to have a good conversation or how to work out a problem by talking it out. Instead, they yell, punch, or worse, shoot to solve their problems. Society has turned into a rude, combative, what’s in it for me, group of people who have put on blinders and can’t seem to think for themselves and have become a throw away society.

The country of Ecuador and its people are like a land that time forgot. Family, their faith and the land are the important things in their lives. Children play outdoors, they are curious about what is going on around them, people talk with each other and, for the most part, they are healthier and happier than their northern neighbors. Children respect their parents, help neighbors, take care of their elderly and work out their differences. Doctor’s there still make house calls when they are needed.  They have all the modern amenities that we have here in the U.S., yet they do not appear to be a “throw away” society. I have seen some marvelous ways that worn out furniture, appliances and clothing have been used. People help each other and work together to keep the environment healthy and themselves in the process.

I am looking forward to returning to the land that time forgot, where family, faith, neighbors helping neighbors and the land are what is important. Where fresh food can be had year round, and people take responsibility for their actions. They aren’t quick to file a law suit against someone to reap compensation for their own stupidity, like placing a hot cup of coffee between their legs and getting burned. Where the air is fresh and clean and the water is good, where people don’t pollute the land with their trash and you can safely walk and enjoy life.

People in Ecuador seem to live longer, are happier and healthier and thoroughly enjoy life and I, for one, see nothing wrong with that. Have a great week, my friends, and don’t forget to tell family and friends that you love them and that you care. May each and every one of you be blessed and enjoy all the best that life has to offer. Until next time,

Hasta Pronto!

Terri at the Drake’s Nest

 

 

This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, This in that in my little realm, Travels and Life's Adventures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

