Excitement is Building

Hard to believe that in a little over two weeks from now, we will be welcoming movers who will load our belongings into a truck and then put them in storage. That night we will travel to Miami, Florida where we will stay overnight and then it will be on to the airport and on our way to Ecuador. We will be staying overnight in Guayaquil as we have never been in that area and want to see what it looks like in the daylight. It will be interesting to see how different the countryside may be and watch it change as we get close to Cuenca.

We are in the last bits of packing and purging and have had two yard sales which seem to do quite well. We will be going to a used furniture store and show them pictures of the almost new furniture we have that we are not taking to Ecuador. If they do not want it or make a ridiculous offer, then we will have Habitat Restore come and take it and we will take it off on our taxes. I would rather see it go there where it is offered at an affordable price for those trying to either get on their feet or are starting out on their own and may not have the money to spend for new furniture. All of our items are in like new condition.

The only thing I am having trouble dealing with is what I may have to do to my cat. He is 12 years old and would not survive the trip and with all the horror stories I have seen of late, I would not want to risk it. If I cannot find someone to take him in, I will have to put him to sleep. So far, all the no-kill shelters and rescue places are either full or have not responded to my emails or phone messages. I have had SamWise for 12 years and it is breaking my heart that I may have to put him down, but I shall deal with this when the time comes.

Sometimes we have to make decisions that bring us no joy, as in this case. However, we do what we must and learn to live with our decision. This will be the first time that I have faced the possibility of putting down a healthy, albeit elderly, pet.

I wish each and every one of you all the best that life has to offer and ask that you remember to thank those in the Military for all they do to ensure our freedoms. Some have returned home injured and scared by what they have seen, what they have had to do and some will never see their families, friends or loved ones again.

Take care and God Bless.

Hasta Pronto,

Terri at the Drake’s Nest

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, Travels and Life's Adventures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

