Almost Time to Depart

I can’t believe just how fast the time is flying past and in a few days time, we will be leaving for our new home in Cuenca, Ecuador. This past week has been a busy one with some highs and lows.

The highs have been selling our car, my husband getting his implants completed and celebrating my last birthday in the U.S.A. Also on a high note, albeit a sad one, a rescue society has taken in my cat SamWise to a foster home until a new forever home can be found for him. It broke my heart to give him up as I have had him for 12 years and he was a tremendous comfort to me when my second husband passed away. While I am tremendously glad that I did not have to have him put to sleep and that he will be able to enjoy what time he has left in a good home, I am sad that he will not be able to join us in Ecuador. I had to make a tough decision and do what I felt was in his best interest. I truly believe that he would not have survived the trip.

We have just about gotten everything packed and are now in the process of cleaning and clearing all the clutter so that we can put the house on the market next week. I repainted our front door a bright red and put on a new and shiny brass door knocker that seems to say welcome home. Hopefully, our house will sell fast. Of course we will have to handle all the settlement documents via email and FedEx. But we have a wonderful attorney in Ecuador, so that should not be a problem.

We had to rent a van so we can drive to the airport in Miami and have the room to transport our 6 suitcases with our clothes, medications and things that we did not want to risk shipping. From what I understand, everyone seems to do this when they move to another country so that they have comfortable clothes. For my husband, this is a necessity as he is 6 foot 4 inches tall and clothes his size are not easy to come by in Ecuador.

Hopefully, our travel to our new home country will be uneventful and enjoyable. The next blog post should be upon our arrival, but we shall see what happens. If there is something you would like to know about, or if you have any questions about what life is like there, send me an email or post the question in your comments and I’ll do my best to answer.

Wishing each and every one of you all the best that life has to offer.  Until next time, stay safe and live life to its fullest.

Hasta Pronto!

Terri at the Drake’s Nest

This entry was posted in This in that in my little realm, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost Time to Depart

  1. Ned says:

    It looks like we’ll arrive in Cuenca a few days behind you – July 1. We hope to see you when we all arrive!
    Ned and Sharon

Leave a Reply

