What a Year!

There have been years that I wished I could change or redo and ones I wished had never happened. I am sure we have all had years like that. The year 2017 has been a roller coaster ride to be sure and some parts an absolute nightmare, but I can honestly say I would gladly do it over again.

Living in Ecuador has taught me a lot about living and what things should be important in one’s life, things like family, friends, ones health, having food for the table and a roof over your head and that all life is precious and should be respected. Family values, trust, respect, faith, and helping neighbors and strangers are at the top of the list.

When we first arrived in Ecuador, a wonderful lady we had only met once at an international living conference, opened her home to us and gave us a place to live until we found our own home. She took us around and showed us the ropes and went with us as we searched for a place to call home. For that we were thankful and have developed a wonderful friendship. She has become a part of our new family here in Cuenca. Thank you Heather Peden for all you have done for us and for your friendship.

During our search for a home, we crossed paths with a realtor who went out of her way to not only find us a humble cottage to call home, but helped us open a bank account, get internet and Direct TV, find a great carpenter and whatever else we needed. Her and her beautiful family are always just a phone call away if we need them. Many thanks Veronica Arpi for all you have done and continue to do. Your friendship and your help over and above what most realtors do makes you a pearl of great prize.

We have been adopted by a beautiful lady and her Ecuadorian family. We met her through our church and without her, we would have never gotten our container released from Customs or obtained all our belongings, well, most of them. She also opened her home to us, traveled with us back and forth to Guayaquil and was there every step of the way. To our new sister, Fabiola, and brother, Vincente, and their families who have adopted us, we say thank you and God bless.

There is so many more we need to thank, like Sara Chaca from Ecuadorian Visas who went, and still does, go that extra mile to make sure we had no problems getting our Visas and, just last week, our Cedulas, or Ecuadorian ID; Luis Eckman, our Spanish Tutor, who has become a dear friend and part of our family, and so many more too numerous to count.

Thank you to the many beautiful Ecuadorian native people who have taken us under their wing, taught us about the culture and customs and made us feel so welcomed and at home. Muchas gracias mi amigos.

My biggest thanks goes to my wonderful and patient husband who is making the journey with me and who keeps me grounded. He is my rock, my soul mate and my best friend. Thank you for being you and putting up with my tears, my bad days and for your unconditional love. May God continue to bless us for many more years to come. You make life worth living and so glad to share this adventure with you.

Looking forward to what 2018 and beyond has to bring and for the lessons of 2017. Life is an adventure to be lived and savored as we pass this way but once. I will remember to not sweat the small stuff, because it is all small stuff. That was a hard lesson to learn, but thankful just the same.

May each and everyone of you be blessed in the coming new year with peace, love, happiness and understanding.

Prospero Nuevo ano mi amigos, Happy New Year my friends.

Hasta Pronto,

Terri at the Drake’s Nest

 

This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, This in that in my little realm, Travels and Life's Adventures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment